Developers List

Square Enix

Video Game Publisher



Square Enix Holdings Co., Ltd. (株式会社スクウェア・エニックス・ホールディングス Kabushiki-gaisha Sukuwea Enikkusu Hōrudingusu) is a Japanese video game developer, publisher, and distribution company that is best known for its role-playing video game franchises, which include Final Fantasy, Dragon Quest, and Kingdom Hearts. Several of its franchises have sold over 10 million copies, with the Final Fantasy franchise selling over 115 million, and the company as a whole made over ¥150 billion in revenue in fiscal year 2014. The Square Enix headquarters are in the Shinjuku Eastside Square Building in Shinjuku, Tokyo, and the company employs over 3800 employees worldwide.

The original Square Enix Co., Ltd. was formed as the result of a statutory merger between Enix Corporation and Square Co., Ltd. in April 2003, with Enix legally absorbing Square. Each share of Square's common stock was exchanged for 0.85 shares of Enix's common stock. At the time, 80% of Square Enix staff were made up of former Square employees. As part of the merger, former Square president Yoichi Wada was appointed president of the new corporation, while former Enix president Keiji Honda was named its vice president, and the founder of Enix, Yasuhiro Fukushima, the largest shareholder of the combined corporation, became its honorary chairman. As a result of the merger, Square Co., Ltd. was dissolved and Enix was the surviving company.

In October 2008, Square Enix was restructured and became a holding company, renaming itself to Square Enix Holdings and forming a new company, Square Enix Co., Ltd., as a subsidiary in charge of its original video game operations. In addition to its flagship subsidiary, Square Enix Holdings owns the arcade gaming corporation Taito, known for games such as Space Invaders, Bubble Bobble, Arkanoid, Darius and Lufia. Square Enix Holdings also owns game publisher Eidos Interactive, which was absorbed into Square Enix Europe, who publishes all of Eidos's intellectual property.